

01/03/2017

Commissioner Gerry Fahy appointed Chairperson of ComReg

Today the Minister for Communications, Climate Action & Environment, Denis Naughten TD, has appointed Mr. Gerry Fahy as Chairperson of the Commission for Communications Regulation (ComReg). His appointment is effective from 1 March, 2017 and runs until 31 August 2018.

The composition of the Commission remains unchanged. It continues to consist of three Commissioners: Mr. Gerry Fahy, Mr. Jeremy Godfrey and Mr. Kevin O'Brien.

On taking up his role, Mr. Fahy said he looks forward to leading the important mission of ComReg in ensuring an appropriate and effective regulatory environment to support increased competition, investment, innovation and consumer choice in a rapidly evolving communications landscape.

Notes to Editors

Gerry Fahy has over thirty five years' experience in telecommunications. An Engineer by profession, Gerry started his career in The Department of Posts & Telegraphs planning and overseeing the constructing of national radio link and fibrebased transmission networks. He oversaw the rollout of the first mobile network, rising to senior management roles in Eircell. Following the takeover of Eircell by Vodafone in 2001 he served as Director of Strategy and a Board member filling those roles until his departure in 2011. He has been a Commissioner in ComReg since 2013. He also has an MBA from UCD.

ENDS

Issued By

Tom Butler Public Affairs Manager, ComReg Ph: 01 8049639 Mo

Mobile: 087 2536358

tom.butler@comreg.ie