

New appointees to the Independent Oversight Body (IOB)

Information Notice

Reference: ComReg 22/34

Version: Final

Date: 04/05/2022

Additional Information

Document No:	22/34
Date:	4 May 2022

Information Notice ComReg 22/34

In December 2018¹ ComReg and Eircom agreed a set of commitments which, when fully implemented, will result in the establishment and operation of an enhanced Regulatory Governance Model ("RGM") in Eircom.

As part of the December 2018 Settlement Agreement between Eircom and ComReg, Eircom agreed to create an Independent Oversight Body ("IOB"), the IOB was established by Eircom in May 2019. The IOB is charged with, among other things, overseeing and assessing Eircom's regulatory governance arrangements.

The IOB, which consists of five members, published its first report on 8th September 2021² and is planning to publish its second report before the end of 2022. ComReg and Eircom recently appointed new members to the IOB replacing Mr Kevin O Donovan (ComReg appointee), Ms Rose Hynes (Eircom appointee) and Ms Fiona Tierney (Eircom appointee) who have resigned from the IOB.

The new ComReg and Eircom appointees are as follows:

ComReg Appointee:

Mr Declan Purcell, IOB member.

For over 20 years, Declan held a range of management roles within the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment. He joined the Irish Competition Authority as a Member / Director in 1998; in 2010 he was appointed as (Executive) Chairperson of the Authority. Over the years, Declan was heavily involved with the deregulation of the broader Irish economy and has significant experience in promoting market competition, both in Ireland and within the European Union. He has regularly spoken at international conferences on various aspects of competition law and policy. Declan holds a Masters degree in Economic Policy Studies (MSc TCD). Since retiring, he has maintained an active professional career and currently advises both within Ireland and internationally on competition policy and related matters.

Eircom Appointees:

Mr Paddy Browne, IOB member.

Paddy is a non-executive Director of eir. He recently retired from the position of Head of the Crops, Environment and Land Use Programme in Teagasc, having held this position since 2012. Prior to this, Paddy held various positions within Teagasc, having commenced his career there in 1977.

Page 3 of 4

¹ ComReg 18/110, 10 December 2018, "Wholesale Compliance Litigation Update - Outcome of Cases 481 and 568 and related litigation" https://www.comreg.ie/publication/wholesale-compliance-litigation-update/

² ComReg 21/95, 5th October 2021, "ComReg Statement on IOB Annual Report" <u>ComReg Statement on IOB Annual</u>
Report | Commission for Communications Regulation

Information Notice ComReg 22/34

Paddy previously served as Chairman of the Governing Body of Institute of Technology Carlow. He is also a former Council member of the Further Education and Training Awards Council of Ireland (FETAC). Paddy is a graduate of University College Dublin with a Bachelor in Agricultural Science. He was also awarded an MBA from Waterford Institute of Technology.

Ms Miriam Hughes, IOB member:

Miriam is a non-executive Director of eir and has over 30 years of experience in marketing, brand reputation and communications. She is the former CEO of DDFH&B Group, one of the largest communication groups in Ireland and has also held a number of senior client marketing roles in blue-chip Irish companies, including Nestlé, Bank of Ireland, Smith & Nephew, and AIB. Miriam is the recent Chair of the Board of Directors of Barnardo's Ireland, a mentor on the Enterprise Ireland panel, a non-executive director at Pluto and Chairperson at Bus Eireann. Miriam is a Chartered Director from the IOD, a graduate of UCD, and holds a BComm and MBS in Marketing.