Broadcasting Services

ComReg is responsible for the coordination, assignment and licensing of the associated radio frequencies to broadcasting services under the Broadcasting Act 2009.

ComReg can only issue licenses for frequencies for broadcasting services to two entities:
Raidió Teilifís Éireann (RTÉ) and the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI).

RTÉ is Ireland’s public service broadcaster, first established under the Broadcasting Authority Act 1960 as amended, provides national radio and television services. The following are the current licences in force with RTÉ:


The latest list of transmitter site locations and associated radio frequencies licensed as per schedule / part II of the above RTÉ licences are contained in the following excel spreadsheet: Broadcast_Technical_Parameters

The Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI), established under the Broadcasting Act 2009, is responsible for the authorisation of Irish broadcasting services other than those provided by RTÉ.

If you are an independent body and wish to broadcast radio or television services, you should contact the BAI.

Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI), 2-5 Warrington Place, Dublin 2, Ireland.
T: + 353 (0)1 644 1200
F: + 353 (0)1 644 1299