Broadcasting Services

ComReg is responsible for the coordination, assignment and licensing of the associated radio frequencies to broadcasting services under the Broadcasting Act 2009, as amended.

ComReg can only issue licences for frequencies for broadcasting services to two entities:
Raidió Teilifís Éireann (RTÉ) and the Coimisiún na Meán.

RTÉ is Ireland’s public service broadcaster, first established under the Broadcasting Authority Act 1960 as amended, provides national radio and television services. The following are the current licences in force with RTÉ:

The latest list of transmitter site locations and associated radio frequencies licensed as per schedule / part II of the above Analogue RTÉ licences are contained in the following excel spreadsheet: Radio Broadcast Technical Parameters


RTÉ DAB Services – On 31 March 2021, RTÉ decided to cease its DAB transmissions. see for more information on RTÉ’s decision.

RTÉ Longwave Radio 252 kHz – RTÉ has decided that it will cease its longwave 252 kHz service for Radio 1 from 14 April 2023. See for more information on RTÉ’s decision.


The Coimisiún na Meán, established under the Broadcasting Act 2009, as amended, is responsible for the authorisation of Irish broadcasting services other than those provided by RTÉ. Examples of services authorised by the Coimisiún na Meán include commercial national radio services, local and regional radio services and other broadcasting services such as “drive-in” movies which utilise FM radio frequencies to broadcast audio to car radio receivers, all of which require a licence from Coimisiún na Meán to operate.

If you are an independent body and wish to broadcast radio (such as community radio, college radio, local or regional radio and drive-in movie services) or television services, you should contact the Coimisiún na Meán.

Coimisiún na Meán,
1 Shelbourne Buildings (formerly Block A, Ballsbridge Centre),
Shelbourne Road,
Dublin 4,
D04 NP20, Ireland.

T: + 353 (0)1 644 1200